Skip to content
November 4, 2010 / Tye Cobb

They Just Keep Getting Younger & Younger

 

So I’m going through the front page of Yahoo this morning and come across this gem of a headline – 10 year-old in Spain is not the first or youngest mom. Immediately I’m like what the fuck.  I gotsta learn more so I click the link.  First of all, I read the entire thing in 15 minutes, which is quite the feat considering it’s almost a full 6 paragraphs long.  Second, I learned nothing about this 10 year-old Spanish girl.  What I did learn is how dangerous it is to have a child before the age of 20, or until you’re fully through puberty.  Teenage mothers are 4x likely to die during childbirth, and infants born to mothers under 20 may also be at increased risk of death, compared with babies born to women over 20.  Let me add in teenage mothers account for 23% of the global burden of disease related to childbirth.  Now the article also notes that a 9 year-old schoolgirl in northeast China gave birth (not surprising given that China hates women of all ages) to a healthy baby boy and that a 10 year-old in IDAHO also got pregnant (probably from her uncle) and carried the baby to term.  Hold up, here’s the best one.  In 1939, Lina Medina of Peru became pregnant at the age of 5 years, 8 months, and became a mother by age 6 years, 5 months.  Personally, I call bullshit, but TIME is holding their ground.  Now what have we learned from all this?  I can read really fast and being premature is no funnn.  Trust me.  So don’t be reckless; better wear a latex, cuz you don’t want that late text that, “I think I’m late” text.  Oh shit, I forgot.  Lil Wayne is outta jail today.  Holla.  Link to the article.  Link to Lil Wayne.

Leave a Reply

