Skip to content
October 18, 2010 / Tye Cobb

The Chicago Hot Dog

Sorry, phone pictures will have to suffice until Christmas.  The girlfriend and I went to a hot dog joint while we were in the city yesterday called Portillo’s.  It was bomb.  The environment was chill and the menu had plenty.  Burgers, beef & sausage sandwiches, hot dogs, malts, etc. etc.  Every aspect of this place was spot on.  Now I’ve only had NY style hot dogs, so obviously I wanted to see why Chicago thinks they have the best hot dogs in the country.  I ordered one, and after finishing it, I can now tell you, with no doubt, that Chicago definitely has the better hot dog.  The relish, peppers, onions, tomatoes, celery salt, and pickle spear do perfect justice to the steamed hot dog and poppy seed bun.  It just works.  I wish I could find these style of hot dogs in the Northeast.  With that said, NY still has the best pizza.  And that one’s not even close.

Leave a Reply

